Happy #IWD

For those who don’t know today is International Women’s Day, a day to celebrate the social, economic, political and cultural achievements of women. So I thought I would do a small, more personal blog post on three of the many women who have inspired me through their personal and professional achievements.

  1. Karren Brady

I feel that when your occupation ranges from businesswoman, to author, to politician, to professional speaker, you pretty much have it sussed. She is the true epitome of a girl’s girl- she told Marie Claire that 75% of her senior team at Birmingham City FC were women- and has worked her way up to become Vice President of West Ham in a predominantly male sector, football. Brady is everything I aspire to be when I’m older, finding the almost perfect balance of being a mother yet a successful, hardworking businesswoman and proves that it is possible for women to have it all.

  1. Lena Dunham

Since discovering Lena Dunham through the marvellous work of TV art that is Girls, I have become obsessed to say the least. An unapologetic feminist who is truly changing the narrative of how women are portrayed in TV Lena is the perfect voice, in my opinion, for our generation. And if you still don’t believe me, feel free to read this article with 32 further reasons as to why she’s the best… http://www.buzzfeed.com/catesevilla/xx-reasons-why-lena-dunham-is-absolutely-brilliant

  1. My Mam

Without getting overly soppy, like most girls, I believe that my Mam, the funniest, wittiest, most intelligent woman I have ever met, is the best. As a tween who struggled with the occasional bitchy girl her answer to everything was “you need to think why these girls are like this, you don’t fully know their circumstances” a lesson that has made me much more empathetic towards others. She selflessly took a step back in her career so that she could look after myself and my brother and so that my Dad, who worked away 90% of the time, could succeed in his. Although this is something I personally wouldn’t do, it is a move I will be forever grateful for as I was never without this strong woman as a role model growing up.

Leave a Reply

